About Department of Architecture, Planning and Construction (DAPC)

The Department of Architecture, Planning and Construction is the first of its type in Namibia. Until 2010, when the Department was established in the Faculty of Engineering, Namibians wishing to pursue studies in the built environment field were obliged to do so in South Africa or other neighbouring and overseas countries, at a price only affordable to few. Therefore, the establishment of the Department of Architecture at the then Polytechnic of Namibia to produce home grown professionals with the requisite qualification to contribute towards the shaping of the future Namibian built environment and urban and rural agglomerations is highly acknowledged as a landmark in the history of development of the country’s educational system.


To grow into a progressive, regionally contextual School of Architecture, Sustainable Urbanism and Regional Development (SASURD).


To produce, for the spatial planning and construction industry, professionals who excel in the context of changing local, regional and international realities.


Our Values are anchored on pragmatism and innovation in Town and Regional Planning, Architecture and Construction Technology, Sustainable African Urbanism and Rural Development. We strive to produce graduates, who understand the vast and rich natural Namibian context with its diverse cultural, social, historic and ethnographic landscapes. Graduates of the DAPC possess the critical thinking and place-making skill, to plan and design responsive, all-inclusive, sustainable urban and rural environments in the context of the unique Namibian dynamics, and complexities of diverse communities and rapid urbanisation.


The Department currently offers four undergraduate and four postgraduate degree programs in Regional and Rural Development, Town and Regional Planning, Urban Design, Landscape Architecture, Architecture and Quantity Surveying.

Currently all programs in the Department are registered in the Namibia Qualifications Framework (NQF). The Town and Regional Planning programme is accredited by Namibian Council of Town and Regional Planners (NCTRP).

The Bachelor of Architecture and Bachelor of Architecture Honours programs received unconditional validation by the Namibia Council for Architects and Quantity Surveyors (NCAQS) in 2016, and by the South African Council for the Architectural Profession (SACAP) and the Commonwealth Association of Architects (CAA) respectively in 2017, rendering them regionally and internationally recognized.


The programs are run by a diverse team of young and dedicated staff, with extensive professional expertise and experience. The ca. 250 students enrolled across the programs are highly motivated and enthusiastic. The new DAPC building with its state of the art facilities continues to be a source of inspiration to students and staff with regards teaching and learning, research and development.

Back to Top